Assembly Election 2017: Here’s who was elected in your area

It was crash and burn for a raft of political heavyweights as Assembly election carnage ended with Mike Nesbitt quitting as Ulster Unionist boss.

The Strangford MLA announced he is to step down as leader of the party after failing to take advantage of the cash for ash fallout.

He announced the move in the wake of an election bloodbath that saw Stormont veterans like Nelson McCausland in North Belfast, Alex Attwood in the west and Danny Kennedy in Newry and Armagh losing their seats.

Nelson McCausland
(Image: Justin Kernoghan –

The political upheaval culminated with Mike Nesbitt stepping aside, saying the election result shows “this society is more polarised than ever”.

He said it had been an “absolute honour” to lead the party, but added: “In pure terms the buck stops here.”

It is understood he is to stay on as Strangford MLA.

Mike Nesbitt
(Image: Brian Little / Press Eye.)

He said the electorate had rejected his hope for a post-sectarian vote.

He added: “We will get there. Some day Northern Ireland will vote as a normal democracy. We will vote in a post-sectarian election but it’s now clear it will not happen during the duration of my political career.”

Some commentators were claiming Mr Nesbitt’s call for UUP voters to transfer to the nationalist SDLP damaged him.

Danny Kennedy’s exit came as a double blow to the UUP as he would have been seen as a leadership contender.

UUP’s Danny Kennedy
(Image: Tony Hendron/Press Eye)

DUP leader Arlene Foster topped the poll in Fermanagh and South Tyrone, however party veteran Maurice Morrow lost his seat there while the constituency elected three Sinn Fein MLAs with Michelle Gildernew coming in first.

Overall, the total votes cast were well up on the 2016 Assembly poll with a turnout of 64.8% – the highest since the vote which followed the 1998 Good Friday Agreement.

Alex Attwood
(Image: PAUL MCERLANE/AFP/Getty Images)

Sinn Fein had a powerful run in the election, which came just 10 months after the last one, gaining to within a few votes of the DUP.

The DUP notched up 225,413 first preferences, down 1.11 percentage points on last year’s Assembly vote, to Sinn Féin’s 224,245 – an increase of 3.89 percentage points.


Carál Ní Chuilín with Gerry Kelly
(Image: Alan Lewis-

Gerry Kelly (Sinn Fein)

Carál Ní Chuilín (Sinn Fein)

Nichola Mallon (SDLP)

Paula Bradley (DUP)

William Humphrey (DUP)


Alliance Party leader Naomi Long
(Image: Alan Lewis-

Naomi Long (Alliance)

Andy Allen (UUP)

Chris Lyttle (Alliance)

Joanne Bunting (DUP)

Robin Newton (DUP)


Mairtin O’Muilleoir of Sinn Fein is congratulated by supporters
(Image: Photopress Belfast)

Máirtín Ó Muilleoir (Sinn Fein)

Claire Hanna (SDLP)

Paula Bradshaw (Alliance)

Christopher Stalford (DUP)

Clare Bailey (Green Party)


Sinn Fein’s Alex Maskey, Michelle O’Neill and Orlaithi Flynn
(Image: Justin Kernoghan –

Órlaithí Flynn (Sinn Fein)

Alex Maskey (Sinn Fein)

Fra McCann (Sinn Fein)

Pat Sheehan (Sinn Fein)

Gerry Carroll (People Before Profit)


Philip McGuigan
(Image: John McIlwaine/Press Eye)

Philip McGuigan (Sinn Fein)

Paul Frew (DUP)

Mervyn Storey (DUP)

Jim Allister (TUV)

Robin Swann (UUP)


David Hilditch
(Image: Freddie Parkinson/Press Eye)

David Hilditch (DUP)

Roy Beggs (UUP)

Stewart Dickson (Alliance)

Gordon Lyons (DUP)

John Stewart (UUP)


Declan Kearney, Sinn Fein
(Image: Freddie Parkinson / Press Eye)

Declan Kearney (Sinn Fein)

Stephen Aiken (UUP)

David Ford (Alliance)

Paul Girvan (DUP)

Pam Cameron (DUP)


Paul Givan
(Image: Declan Roughan/Press Eye)

Paul Givan (DUP)

Robbie Butler (UUP)

Trevor Lunn (Alliance)

Edwin Poots (DUP)

Pat Catney (SDLP)


Alex Easton
(Image: Brian Little/Press Eye)

Alex Easton (DUP)

Alan Chambers (UUP)

Stephen Farry (Alliance)

Gordon Dunne (DUP)

Steven Agnew (Green Party)


Chris Hazzard and Sinéad Ennis
(Image: Declan Roughan/Press Eye)

Sinéad Ennis (Sinn Fein)

Chris Hazzard (Sinn Fein)

Jim Wells (DUP)

Sinéad Bradley (SDLP)

Colin McGrath (SDLP)


Simon Hamilton
(Image: Brian Little/Press Eye)

Simon Hamilton (DUP)

Kellie Armstrong (Alliance)

Michelle McIlveen (DUP)

Mike Nesbitt (UUP)

Peter Weir (DUP)


Carla Lockhart celebrates being elected
(Image: Tony Hendron/Press Eye)

Carla Lockhart (DUP)

John O’Dowd (Sinn Fein)

Jonathan Buckley (DUP)

Doug Beattie (UUP)

Dolores Kelly (SDLP)


Michelle O’Neill pictured after topping the poll in Mid Ulster
(Image: Stephen Hamilton/PressEye)

Michelle O’Neill (Sinn Fein)

Keith Buchanan (DUP)

Ian Milne (Sinn Fein)

Linda Dillon (Sinn Fein)

Patsy McGlone (SDLP)


Claire Sugden (Independent)

George Robinson (DUP)

Maurice Bradley (DUP)

Caoimhe Archibald (Sinn Fein)

John Dallat (SDLP)


Elisha McCallion and Raymond McCartney, Sinn Fin
(Image: Lorcan Doherty/Press Eye)

Elisha McCallion (Sinn Fein)

Colum Eastwood (SDLP)

Raymond McCartney (Sinn Fein)

Mark H Durkan (SDLP)

Gary Middleton (DUP)


Arlene Foster, Leader of the DUP, at the Omagh count centre
(Image: Brian Lawless/PA Wire)

Arlene Foster (DUP)

Michelle Gildernew (Sinn Fein)

Jemma Dolan (Sinn Fein)

Seán Lynch (Sinn Fein)

Rosemary Barton (UUP)


Thomas Buchanan
(Image: Trevor Lucy/Press Eye)

Thomas Buchanan (DUP)

Michaela Boyle (Sinn Fein)

Barry McElduff (Sinn Fein)

Daniel McCrossan (SDLP)

Declan McAleer (Sinn Fein)


William Irwin (DUP) celebrates after being elected
(Image: Tony Hendron/Press Eye)

William Irwin (DUP)

Cathal Boylan (Sinn Fein)

Justin McNulty (SDLP)

Megan Fearon (Sinn Fein)

Conor Murphy (Sinn Fein)

Parliamentary reports show first speaker only - follow this lnk for the full transcription.
Articles may come from parliamentary reports, various public news feeds and Google News Search. Content is republished here for context. Copyright is respected and remains with the original author at all times. Original Article:

This entry was posted in In The News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.