Beggs welcomes 3 new East Antrim additions to 20mph part time speed limits at schools

East Antrim UUP MLA Roy Beggs said “It is welcome news that Glynn, St Nicholas’ and Eden Primary Schools are part of the recently launched consultation for additional 20mph part time speed limits as schools. These schools will hopefully join with Upper Ballyboley, Islandmagee & Model PS in addition to Carrickfergus Academy and Carrickfergus Grammar School, where the 20mph zones are already operational.

Last March I wrote to the Infrastructure Minister to ask that a number of additional schools be added to the scheme. Three are included this time, however a number are still waiting inclusion for the scheme. The other schools that I asked the Minister to consider including where Toreagh PS, Carnlough Integrated, Linn PS, Olderfleet PS, St Macnissi’s PS, Seaview PS, Glynn PS, Larne High School, Larne Grammar School, Roddensvale, Thornfield & Rostulla. I would ask that each of these schools be considered for the next tranche of the 20mph roll out. Furthermore, I would reiterate that officials need to investigate the forward planning required to transition the current 20mph signage at Islandmagee PS to the new build site, once it is completed to minimise disruption.”


This entry was posted in Articles, Assembly, In The News, Press Releases, This Week at Stormont. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.